Defending champion Elise Mertens, Su-Wei Hsieh and Johanna Konta are among those leading the field as Africa's only WTA Tour event takes place in Rabat, Morocco from April 29 to May 4.

The WTA International Grand Prix de SAR Princesse Lalla Meryem in Rabat offers players one final opportunity to hone their clay court skills before next week’s big gathering at the Premier Mandatory Mutua Madrid Open - who will step up and walk away with the title?

WTA Rabat live streaming

WTA Rabat is live from April 29 to May 4 with play starting around 11.00am local time/BST. Bookmaker bet365 are offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the matches alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on WTA Rabat tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch & bet on WTA Rabat tennis

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select 'Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for WTA Rabat tennis, live from April 29 to May 4

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply.

WTA Rabat tournament information

WTA Rabat players 2019

World No. 18 and defending champion Elise Mertens has taken a wildcard into the Grand Prix de SAR Princesse Lalla Meryem in Rabat and will be the top seed as she targets her sixth WTA title and second of 2019 after also prevailing in Doha, which was the biggest title of her career.

Mertens has put together an underrated rise into the world’s top 20 over the last couple of seasons and was also an Australian Open semi-finalist in 2018 - can the Belgian generate some clay momentum and perhaps take home her third WTA clay crown after she also won in Lugano last year?

She will be joined in the draw by the always dangerous Su-Wei Hsieh, who has been playing some spellbinding tennis over the last two years and remains dangerous across all surfaces, especially to the top players.

Petra Martic just won her maiden WTA title in Istanbul and will be keen to keep that winning feeling going in Rabat, while Ajla Tomljanovic, who was runner-up to Mertens in Rabat last year, has also been in great form throughout 2019 - perhaps it’s time for the Aussie to win a first WTA title after finishing runner-up in Hua Hin earlier this season?

Also watch out for Johanna Konta, who has never been at her best on clay but is a former top five player and trying to work her way back up the rankings, while the likes of Maria Sakkari, Alison Van Uytvanck, Yulia Putintseva and Alize Cornet can never be discounted.

About WTA Rabat

A staple of the spring clay-court season since it was first played in 2001, the WTA Tour event known as the Grand Prix de SAR Princesse Lalla Meryem – named after Princess Lalla Meryem, the sister of Mohammed VI, king of Morocco – is Africa’s only WTA Tour event and has been played in various cities in Morocco for the past 16 years.

Played in Morocco since its inception in 2001, the International-level red clay event has been held in several different cities, beginning in Casablanca from 2001-4, Rabat in 2005-6, Fes from 2007 to 2012, Marrakech from 2013-15 and returning to Rabat, the Moroccan capital, in 2016, where it will continue to bring top WTA Tour tennis to Africa. Morocco is also the home of the ATP World Tour’s only event held in Africa, the Grand Prix Hassan II played in Marrakech in early April.  

One of over 30 International-level WTA Tour events held throughout the year and all over the world, WTA Rabat offers 280 ranking points to the winner as well as prize money and the opportunity – which can be priceless – to tune up one’s clay-court game ahead of the major European clay events in Madrid, Rome and Roland Garros. 

Some of the WTA Tour’s finest players have availed themselves of the opportunity over the years since the Grand Prix de SAR La Princesse Meryem was first played in 2001. While Hungary’s Zsofia Gubacsi claimed the title at the inaugural event, no woman has ever won the WTA Rabat title twice, with Emilie Loit (2004), Gisela Dulko (2008), Anabel Medina Garrigues (2009) and Iveta Benesova (2010) among the champions during the tournament’s first decade. 

Unsurprisingly for a clay-court event, the two great European clay tennis nations of Italy and Spain have been most successful at the Grand Prix de SAR La Princesse Meryem, with three Italian players - Rita Grande (2003), Alberta Brianti (2011) and Francesca Schiavone (2013) – and three Spanish players, Nuria Llagostera Vives (2005), Anabel Medina Garrigues (2009) and Maria Teresa Torro Flor (2014) all taking the title. 

Grand Slam champions Marion Bartoli, Flavia Pennetta, Li Na, Svetlana Kuznetsova and Angelique Kerber have all starred at the Grand Prix de SAR La Princesse Lalla Meryem over the years with French Open champion Francesca Schiavone taking the title in 2013. Former world no. 1 Jelena Jankovic and Carla Suarez Navarro have also appeared at WTA Rabat, while Simona Halep reached the first WTA Tour final of her career at the event in 2010-11. Rising WTA Tour stars Kiki Bertens, Maria-Teresa Torro-Flor and Elina Svitolina have captured the title in recent years, while former French Open semi-finalist, Timea Bacsinszky and Russia's Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova have also been champions. Elise Mertens is the defending champion after beating Ajla Tomljanovic in the 2018 final.

WTA Rabat tournament information

WTA Rabat Tournament Information

Grand Prix de SAR Princesse Lalla MeryemWTA Rabat
DatesApril 29 to May 4
LocationRabat, Morocco
VenueClub des Cheminots
First Played2001
Entrants32 singles/ 16 Doubles
No. of Seeds8
Reigning Singles ChampionElise Mertens
Reigning Doubles ChampionsAnna Blinkova/Raluca Olaru
Prize Money$226,750

WTA Rabat former champions

Previous Champions at the WTA Grand Prix de SAR Princesse Lalla Meryem

2001Zsofia GubacsiMaria Elena Camerin
2002Patricia WartuschKlara Koukalova
2003Rita GrandeAntonella Serra Zanetti
2004Emilie LoitL'udmila Cervanova
2005Nuria Llagostera VivesZheng Jie
2006Meghann ShaughnessyMartina Sucha
2007Milagros SequeraAleksandra Wozniak
2008Gisela DulkoAnabel Medina Garrigues
2009Anabel Medina GarriguesEkaterina Makarova
2010Iveta BenesovaSimona Halep
2011Alberta BriantiSimona Halep
2012Kiki BertensLaura Pous Tio
2013Francesca SchiavoneLourdes Dominguez Lino
2014Maria Teresa Torro FlorRomina Oprandi
2015Elina SvitolinaTimea Babos
2016Timea BacsinszkyMarina Erakovic
2017Anastasia PavlyuchenkovaFrancesca Schiavone
2018Elise MertensAjla Tomljanovic

WTA Rabat ranking points

Ranking point distribution at an International event


You have unread messages

You have unread messages