One of the final tournaments on the WTA calendar, the 2018 international-level Upper Austria Ladies Linz features some of the biggest names in women’s tennis as the field battles for the title, 280 ranking points and $250,000 in total prize money.

Top 10 stars Julia Goerges and Kiki Bertens are the star attractions in Linz this week, alongside defending champion Barbora Strycova.


WTA Linz tennis is live from October 8-14, with play starting around 11.00am local time (10.00am BST). Online bookmaker bet365 offer customers the chance to watch live streams of the matches live from Linz alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on Linz tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch & bet on WTA Linz tennis:

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select 'Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for WTA Linz tennis, live between October 8-14.

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply.



Top 10 players Julia Goerges and Kiki Bertens headline the 2018 Upper Austria Ladies Linz, while Barbora Strycova is back again in an attempt to defend her title.

Bertens has more to play for than every other player in the draw as the Dutchwoman continues her battle with Karolina Pliskova for a spot at the season-ending WTA Finals Singapore. The pair are separated by just 10 points and leapfrogged each other in Beijing last week before they were each eliminated in the Round of 16, with Pliskova remaining in eighth and Bertens in ninth in the Porsche Race to Singapore. With Pliskova taking a wildcard into Tianjin this week, Bertens must out-perform the Czech in order to make it into the top eight with just one week of the season remaining.

Goerges had a very fruitful end of the season this time 12 months ago as she picked up titles in Moscow and Zhuhai - can the German collect some silverware again, this time in Linz?

Strycova has experienced an up-and-down season but will be buoyed upon returning to the scene of her title triumph last year, but the Czech will face stiff competition in the shape of another WTA field littered with depth, including Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, Magdalena Rybarikova (last year’s Linz runner-up), former World No. 4 Dominika Cibulkova, Camila Giorgi, Donna Vekic, Katerina Siniakova, Belinda Bencic and Kristina Mladenovic.


Previously called the Generali Ladies Linz, the tournament switched names to the Upper Austria Ladies Linz from the 2017 edition. The Upper Austria Ladies Linz was launched back in 1987, and has become a popular stop on the WTA Tour. Staged at the 6000-capacity TipzArena Linz, the WTA International tier tournament has attracted some of the most famous players on the tour over the years. Many WTA greats have triumphed at the event with Lindsay Davenport, Ana Ivanovic and Jana Novotna the only players to have won multiple titles. Other former champions include Justine Henin, Amélie Mauresmo, Mary Pierce, Maria Sharapova, Petra Kvitova and Victoria Azarenka. In fact, in 2012 Azarenka became the first player ranked as the World No. 1 to compete in Linz.

The WTA Upper Austria Ladies Linz holds during the home stretch of the WTA season, in the same week as the Prudential Hong Kong Tennis Open and the Tianjin Open before the WTA annual schedule finishes up in Luxembourg and Moscow.

It’s positioning on the calendar also makes the Generali Ladies Linz Open a significant tournament in terms of players hoping to accumulate enough points to make a late dash for qualification into the WTA Finals in Singapore - the prestigious season-ending championships contested between the top eight ranked players of the year. In fact, Dominika Cibulkova won the 2016 edition to seal her spot in the WTA Finals before going on to claim the title in her debut appearance in Singapore!

Barbora Strycova is the defending champion after beating Magdalena Rybarikova in the 2017 final.


WTA Linz 2018 fast facts

WTA Linz
Dates8-14 October, 2018
VenueTipsArena, Linz
LocationLinz, Austria
First played1987
Draw size32
Surface Hard (indoors)
CategoryWTA International
Prize money$250,000
Reigning Singles ChampionBarbora Strycova
Reigning Doubles ChampionKiki Bertens/Johanna Larsson


Ranking points on offer at the Japan Women's Open



Previous WTA Linz Champions

1987Barbora PaulusDenisa Krajcovicova
1988Eva SviglerovaMarion Maruska
1989Marion MaruskaKarin Kscwendt
1990Monika KratchvilovaKatharina Bueche
1991Manuela Maleeva-FragnierePetra Langrova
1992Natalia MedvedevaPascale Paradis-Mangon
1993Manuela Maleeva-FragniereConchita Martinez
1994Sabine AppelmansMeike Babel
1995Jana NovotnaBarbara Rittner
1996Sabine AppelmansJulie Halard
1997Chanda RubinKarina Habsudova
1998Jana NovotnaDominque Monami van Roost
1999Mary PierceSandrine Testud
2000Lindsay DavenportVenus Williams
2001Lindsay DavenportJelena Dokic
2002Justine HeninAlexandra Stevenson
2003Ai SugiyamaNadia Petrova
2004Amelie MauresmoElena Bovina
2005Nadia PetrovaPatty Schnyder
2006Maria SharapovaNadia Petrova
2007Daniela HantuchovaPatty Schnyder
2008Ana IvanovicVera Zvonareva
2009Yanina WickmayerPetra Kvitova
2010Ana IvanovicPatty Schnyder
2011Petra KvitovaDominika Cibulkova
2012Victoria AzarenkaJulia Goerges
2013Angelique KerberAna Ivanovic
2014Karolina PliskovaCamila Giorgi
2015Anastasia PavlyuchenkovaAnna-Lena Friedsam
2016Dominika CibulkovaViktorija Golubic
2017Barbora StrycovaMagdalena Rybarikova

You have unread messages

You have unread messages