The Toyota Thailand Open, also known as the Hua Hin Championships, makes its debut on the tennis calendar as a WTA International event in 2019.

The inaugural edition of the tournament formerly held in Taipei has attracted a fine field led by Wimbledon and French Open champion Garbine Muguruza, China's Zheng Saisai and Yafan Wang, and rising star Dayana Yastremska, all taking to the courts when WTA Hua Hin 2019 takes place 28 January-3 February.

Thailand Open Live Streaming

WTA Hua Hin tennis is live from 28 January-3 February with play starting around 3pm local/8am GMT. Matches are televised via BT Sports in the UK, but bookmaker bet365 are also offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the match alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on Hua Hin tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch & bet on WTA Hua Hin tennis

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select 'Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for WTA Hua Hin tennis, live from 28 January-3 February 2018

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply. 

Thailand Open tournament schedule

WTA Hua Hin Players 2019

The 2019 Toyota Thailand Open brings a strong field to the courts. Played the week after the Australian Open - the Grand Slam of Asia-Pacific - many top and exciting players have jumped at the chance to remain in that area of the world and on outdoor hard courts instead of heading back to chilly, snow-laden European cities and indoor tournaments.

Two-time Grand Slam champion Garbine Muguruza still leads the field as the tournament heads towards the semifinals. Out of the top 10 after a rough 2018 season which nevertheless included a run to the French Open semifinals, the powerful Spanish player performed well at the Australian Open, reaching the round of 16 before running into Karolina Pliskova, and has made the quarterfinals in Hua Hin after wins over Sabine Lisicki and Mona Barthel.

But she faces a tough opponent in Dayana Yastremska, the 18-year-old Ukrainian who made such an impression at the end of 2018 when she won her maiden WTA title in Hong Kong without dropping a set and went on to beat Muguruza herself on her way to the semifinals of Luxembourg.

Also among the final eight in Hua Hin are China's Zheng Saisai and Wang Yafan, hard-hitting Australian powerhouse Ajla Tomljanovic, Poland's Magda Linette and rising Tamara Zidansek.

About the Thailand Open

Following straight on from the Australian Open, the Toyota Thailand Open offers top players the opportunity to stay in the Asia-Pacific timezone and conditions for one more tournament to prepare for upcoming events – Fed Cup, the Middle East double of Doha and Dubai, and the major March hard-court events of Indian Wells and Miami.

Held during the week of Chinese New Year in early February, the tournament returned to Thailand and its resort city of Hua Hin in 2019 after a two-year sojourn in Taipei. But it has long roots in Thailand - the Thailand Open was played in Pattaya City from 1991 to 2016 and was a popular stop on the WTA Tour. An International event from 2009 onwards, the Thailand Open included Conchita Martinez, Agnieszka Radwanska, Maria Kirilenko and Ekaterina Makarova among its champions. The most successful player at the Thailand Open was Daniela Hantuchova, who won the title in Pattaya City three times: Back-to-back titles in 2011-12, and a final triumph in 2015 when she defeated Ajla Tomljanovic in the final. 

The tournament relocated to Taiwan in 2016 to become the first WTA Tour event to be held on the island after Taiwan had successfully hosted a 125k event between 2012-15. Played in Kaohsiung in 2016, almost 100,000 fans attended the event which saw the legendary Venus Williams capture the 49th title of her extraordinary career, defeating Japan's Misaki Doi in the final, while Taiwan's homegrown stars Yung-Jan and Hao-Ching Chan won the doubles and donated their prize money to the Taichung earthquake appeal. The 2018 edition was held in Taipei City, the capital of Chinese Taipei, and saw the Chan sisters thrill the fans by successfully defending their doubles title while Elina Svitolina won the first of her five singles titles for the season, beating Peng Shuai in the final.

Meanwhile, Thailand hosted a WTA 125k event in November in 2015 and 2017 before it was announced that the Taiwan Open would once more become the Thailand Open, to be played at the True Arena Hua Hin from 2019 to 2023.

Hua Hin thus joins Beijing, Shenzhen, Wuhan, Zhuhai, Tianjin, Hong Kong, Hiroshima, Tokyo, Zhengzhou, Guangdong and Nanchang in hosting a WTA Tour event on Asian hard courts. 

One of 34 International-level WTA Tour events held throughout the season and all around the world, the Thailand Open features a 32-player singles draw and total prize money of $226,750. Following on from the Australian Open, WTA Hua Hin offers a prime opportunity for top players to continue to play on outdoor hard courts in the lead-up to events in Doha, Dubai, Indian Wells and Miami, rather than transitioning to indoor hard courts and outside again, and will feature the cream of the WTA Tour year on year as they battle for the Thailand Open title.

WTA Hua Hin Tournament Information

Here are some quick facts about the Toyota Thailand Open.

Fast facts about the Thailand Open

Toyota Thailand OpenWTA Hua Hin
Dates28 January-3 February 2019
LocationHua Hin, Thailand
VenueTrue Arena Hua Hin
SurfaceHard courts (outdoors)
Draw size32 singles/16 doubles
First played1991
Prize money$250,000
Most titlesDaniela Hantuchova (3)
Reigning singles championTimea Babos
Reigning doubles championsDuan Ying-ying/Wang Yafan

WTA Hua Hin Ranking Points

As an International-level WTA Tour event featuring a 32-player draw, the Thailand Open offers the following ranking points.

Ranking points on offer at the Japan Women's Open


WTA Thailand Open champions

Here is a complete list of players who have won the tournament currently known as the Toyota Thailand Open, as well as the city in which the tournament was held at the time.

Players currently active in singles are given in bold.

Former winners of the Thailand Open

1991Yayuk BasukiNaoko SawamatsuPattaya City
1992Sabine AppelmensAndrea StrnadovaPattaya City
1993Yayuk Basuki (2)Marianne Werdel WitmeyerPattaya City
1994Sabine Appelmens (2)Patty FendickPattaya City
1995Barbara PaulusYi JinqqianPattaya City
1996Ruxandra DragomirTamarine TanasugarnPattaya City
1997Henrieta NagyovaDominique van RoostPattaya City
1998Julie Halard-DecugisLi FangPattaya City
1999Magdalena MaleevaAnne KremerPattaya City
2000Anne KremerTatiana PanovaPattaya City
2001Patty SchnyderHenrieta NagyovaPattaya City
2002Angelique WidjajaCho Yoon-jeongPattaya City
2003Henrieta Nagyova (2)L'ubomira KurhajcovaPattaya City
2004Not held
2005Conchita MartinezAnna-Lena GroenefeldPattaya City
2006Shahar PeerJelena Kostanic TosicPattaya City
2007Sybille Bammer Gisela DulkoPattaya City
2008Agnieszka RadwanskaJill CraybasPattaya City
2009Vera ZvonarevaSania MirzaPattaya City
2010Vera Zvonareva (2)Tamarine TanasugarnPattaya City
2011Daniela HantuchovaSara ErraniPattaya City
2012Daniela Hantuchova (2)Maria KirilenkoPattaya City
2013Maria KirilenkoSabine LisickiPattaya City
2014Ekaterina MakarovaKarolina PliskovaPattaya City
2015Daniela Hantuchova (3)Ajla TomljanovicPattaya City
2016Venus WilliamsMisaki DoiKaohsiung
2017Elina SvitolinaPeng ShuaiTaipei City
2018Timea BabosKateryna KozlovaTaipei City

You have unread messages

You have unread messages