Wimbledon champion Simona Halep returns in an attempt to defend her Rogers Cup title when the 2019 tournament gets underway between August 5-11.

Halep has triumphed in two of the last three seasons in Canada and will be the firm favourite to win back-to-back Rogers Cup titles after securing her second major title at Wimbledon. Can the Romanian make it a hat-trick of titles in Canada, or will someone else step up to the plate?

WTA Toronto live streaming

WTA Toronto tennis is live from August 5-11 with play starting around 11.00am local time (4.00pm BST). Bookmaker bet365 are offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the matches alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on WTA Toronto tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch & bet on WTA Toronto tennis

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select 'Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for WTA Toronto tennis, live from August 5-11

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply.

WTA Toronto tournament schedule

WTA Toronto players 2019

The very best in women’s tennis return to Toronto in 2019 for the prestigious Rogers Cup, which is played in Toronto and Montreal in alternate years. This year, it’s the turn of the Aviva Centre in Toronto to host the cream of women’s tennis for one of the biggest events of the US Open Series, the WTA Premier-5 tournament known as the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank.

The first big tournament following all of the action at Wimbledon, the Rogers Cup consistently attracts the top players on the WTA Tour, and barring injury and other unforeseen issues, the 2019 edition of the tournament will be no different.

Simona Halep will be the star attraction as the Wimbledon champion looks to make it back-to-back Rogers Cup titles after beating Sloane Stephens in one of the best matches of the 2018 season in last year’s final. Halep was also a runner-up in 2015 to Belinda Bencic before winning her first title in 2016 over Madison Keys, and in blazing form after her one-sided demolition of Serena Williams in the Wimbledon final, she will fancy her chances of capturing a third Rogers Cup crown this week.

At the time of writing, it remains to be seen if Serena will return to action in Canada following another Grand Slam final defeat, but if she’s fit, you’d think the American would want to get in as many matches as possible before the U.S. Open.

With so much depth on the WTA Tour these days, the 2019 Rogers Cup promises to be another wide open affair - and you know as much when the top two-ranked players in the world - No. 1 Ashleigh Barty and No. 2 Naomi Osaka - aren’t being talked about dominant leading contenders. It’s a big tournament for both players - French Open champion Barty is looking to cement her status as World No. 1 after a phenomenal season to date, while Osaka is trying to regain her best tennis after a poor run of form following the Australian Open.

Throw in the likes of former champions Petra Kvitova, Elina Svitolina and Caroline Wozniacki - along with Karolina Pliskova, Kiki Bertens and Angelique Kerber - and it’s set to be another thrilling week of tennis as the 2019 Rogers Cup champion is crowned on August 11.

About the WTA Rogers Cup

The Rogers Cup has a unique structure in tennis: The two biggest cities in Canada, Toronto and Montreal, take it in turns to host the men and the women each year. This began back in 1981 when the men played in Montreal and the women in Toronto and has continued ever since. Thus, in 2018 the men played in Toronto and Simona Halep beat Sloane Stephens in the women’s final in Toronto and so in 2019 the men will conversely be playing at the Uniprix Stadium in Montreal, while the women will compete at Toronto’s Aviva Centre.

The Rogers Cup can trace its beginnings back to 1881 when the men’s event was held at the Toronto Lawn Tennis Club, while the women first played in 1892. Of extant tennis events, only Wimbledon and the US Open have a longer history.

Played on clay until 1979, when it switched permanently to hard courts, the Rogers Cup used to be a combined men’s and women’s event until 1981 with both genders playing at the National Tennis Centre in Toronto.

The Rogers Cup is now one of five ‘Premier 5’ tournaments for the WTA, the second-highest level of tournament, attracting all the best players in women’s tennis on a yearly basis. It is also one of the two biggest events in the lead-up to the US Open, the fourth and final Grand Slam of the year, formalized as the US Open Series. Winners in the warm-up events now have the opportunity to win an additional $1 million at the US Open.

Lois Moyes Bickle holds the all-time record for the most Rogers Cup titles, winning a staggering 10 trophies between 1906 and 1924, while in the Open Era American stars Chris Evert and Monica Seles have won four titles each. Martina Navratilova and Serena Williams aren’t far behind with three titles apiece, while there was a new champion in the next five editions of the tournament, with Agnieszka Radwanska, Belinda Bencic, Simona Halep and Elina Svitolina winning in 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 respectively. Halep broke the trend when she won her second Rogers Cup title in 2018, beating Sloane Stephens in three sets in the final.

WTA Rogers Cup tournament information

Rogers Cup fast facts

WTA TorontoRogers Cup
DatesAugust 5-11, 2019
LocationToronto, Canada
VenueAviva Centre
CategoryWTA Premier 5
First played1892
Draw size64
Prize money$2,434,389
Most titles (Open Era)Chris Evert & Monica Seles (4)
Reigning singles championSimona Halep
Reigning doubles championsAshleigh Barty/Demi Schuurs

WTA Rogers Cup champions

Previous Rogers Cup winners (Open Era)

1968Jane BartkowiczFaye Urban
1969Faye UrbanVicki Berner
1970Margaret Smith CourtRosemary Casals
1971Francoise DurrEvonne Goolagong Cawley
1972Evonne Goolagong CawleyVirginia Wade
1973Evonne Goolagong CawleyHelga Niessen Masthoff
1974Chris EvertJulie Heldman
1975Marcie LouieLaura DuPont
1976Mima JausovecLesley Hunt
1977Regina MarsikovaMarise Kruger
1978Reginia MarsikovaVirginia Ruzici
1979Laura DuPontBrigitte Cuypers
1980Chris EvertVirginia Ruzici
1981Tracy AustinChris Evert
1982Martina NavratilovaAndrea Jaeger
1983Martina NavratilovaChris Evert
1984Chris EvertAlycia Moulton
1985Chris EvertClaudia Kohde-Kilsch
1986Helena SukovaPam Shriver
1987Pam ShriverZina Garrison
1988Gabriela SabatiniNatasha Zvereva
1989Martina NavratilovaArantxa Sanchez Vicario
1990Steffi GrafKaterina Maleeva
1991Jennifer CapriatiKaterina Maleeva
1992Arantxa Sanchez VicarioMonica Seles
1993Steffi GrafJennifer Capriati
1994Arantxa Sanchez VicarioSteffi Graf
1995Monica SelesAmanda Coetzer
1996Monica SelesArantxa Sanchez Vicario
1997Monica SelesAnke Huber
1998Monica SelesArantxa Sanchez Vicario
1999Martina HingisMonica Seles
2000Martina HingisSerena Williams
2001Serena WilliamsJennifer Capriati
2002Amelie MauresmoJennifer Capriati
2003Justine HeninLina Krasnouroutskaya
2004Amelie MauresmoElena Likhovtseva
2005Kim ClijstersJustin Henin
2006Ana IvanovicMartina Hingis
2007Justine HeninJelena Jankovic
2008Dinara SafinaDominika Cibulkova
2009Elena DementievaMaria Sharapova
2010Caroline WozniackiVera Zvonareva
2011Serena WilliamsSamantha Stosur
2012Petra KvitovaLi Na
2013Serena WilliamsSorana Cirstea
2014Agnieszka RadwanskaVenus Williams
2015Belinda BencicSimona Halep
2016Simona HalepMadison Keys
2017Elina SvitolinaCaroline Wozniacki
2018Simona HalepSloane Stephens

WTA Rogers Cup ranking points

WTA Premier-5 ranking points


You have unread messages

You have unread messages