South Korea's only WTA Tour event takes place in late September and has been a popular part of the women's tennis autumn swing through Asia since 2004 when Maria Sharapova captured the title at the inaugural edition in Seoul.

French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko captured the WTA Seoul title in 2017 and is back to defend in 2018 alongside Agnieszka Radwanska, Su-Wei Hsieh, Cincinnati champion Kiki Bertens and San Jose runner-up Maria Sakkari when the Korea Open takes place from 17-23 September.

WTA Seoul Live Streaming

Korea Open tennis is live from 17-23 September with play starting around 3.45pm local/7.45am BST. Matches are televised via BT Sports in the UK, but bookmaker bet365 are also offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the match alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on Seoul tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch & bet on WTA Seoul tennis

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select 'Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for WTA Seoul tennis, live from 17-23 September 2018

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply. 

WTA Seoul tournament schedule

WTA Seoul Players 2018

Defending champion Jelena Ostapenko heads the field at the 2018 Korea Open, live from Seoul from 17-23 September 2018.

Ostapenko was already the French Open champion when she won her first WTA Tour title in Seoul in 2017, defeating Beatriz Haddad Maia in the final to become the first Latvian champion at the Korea Open. Ostapenko was unable to defend her Roland Garros title in 2018 but comes into the International-level event as the top seed and world no. 10 after reaching the final of the Miami Open and the semifinals of Wimbledon, and made an emphatic start to her title defense by beating 2016 champion Lara Arruabarrena.

Another former Seoul champion, Agnieszka Radwanska, is also targeting the tournament's latter stages and a potential quarterfinal clash with San Jose finalist Maria Sakkari, the athletic youngster working alongside ATP compatriot Stefanos Tsitsipas to put Greek tennis back on the map.

Cincinnati champion Kiki Bertens, runner-up at the Mutua Madrid Open earlier this year, aims to bring her newfound hard-court prowess to Asian hard courts as she sailed into the quarterfinals to set up a clash with surprise Wimbledon quarterfinalist Evgeniya Rodina, and the powerful Ajla Tomljanovic is set to do battle with Luxembourg veteran Mandy Minella as the Korea Open draws near its climactic stages.

About the Korea Open

The iconic Seoul Olympic Park, which was part of the staging grounds for the 1988 summer Olympics, plays host to the WTA Tour's top players as the Korea Open takes place in late September.

The International-level event in the South Korean capital is one of a glittering swathe of tournaments played across China, Japan and other Asian countries in the month following the US Open as the WTA Tour continues to expend its popularity and that of women's tennis in that region of the world. The Korea Open joins tournaments in Hiroshima, Tokyo, Guangzhou, Tianjin, Zhuhai, Wuhan, Beijing and Singapore in attracting stars and spectators in late September and October.

The Korea Open was first played in 2004, when the title at the inaugural edition was claimed by Maria Sharapova, a few months after the then-17 year old Russian had won her maiden major title at Wimbledon. Sharapova defeated Marta Domachowska in the Seoul final but she was only the first in a line of big names and Grand Slam champions to have taken the Korea Open title. Czech sensation Nicole Vaidisova followed Sharapova in 2005 when she defeated future world no. 1 Jelena Jankovic in the final, and seven-time Grand Slam champion Venus Williams was the winner in 2007 when she defeated Maria Kirilenko.

Icon of Japanese tennis Kimiko Date-Krumm took the title in 2009, and future Australian Open champion Caroline Wozniacki in 2012, followed by Wimbledon finalist Agnieszka Radwanska in 2013 and future US Open runner-up Karolina Pliskova in 2014. 

No woman has ever won the Korea Open more than once, however, with Irina-Camelia Begu and Lara Arruabarrena following as champions before Jelena Ostapenko became the latest major champion to claim the title in Seoul in 2017 - her first WTA title, following some months after winning the French Open.

Offering $250,000 in prize money as well as ranking points and a priceless opportunity to hone one's game ahead of the major WTA Tour autumn events in Wuhan and Beijing, the Korea Open continues to attract strong fields - but who will be the first player to win multiple titles in Seoul?

WTA Seoul tournament information

Fast facts about the Korea Open

WTA SeoulKorea Open
Dates17-23 September 2018
LocationSeoul, South Korea
VenueSeoul Olympic Park Tennis Centre
SurfaceOutdoor hard courts
First played2004
Draw size32 singles/16 doubles
Prize money$225,000
Reigning singles championJelena Ostapenko
Reigning doubles championsKiki Bertens/Johanna Larsson

WTA Seoul ranking points

These are the ranking points awarded by the WTA Tour for reaching various rounds at an International-level event with a 32-player singles draw like the Korea Open.

Ranking points on offer at the Japan Women's Open


WTA Seoul champions

Here is a list of all the former singles champions at the Korea Open since its inception in 2004. 

Players still active in singles are in bold.

WTA Korea Open Previous Champions

2004Maria SharapovaMarta Domachowska
2005Nicole VaidisovaJelena Jankovic
2006Eleni DaniilidouAi Sugiyama
2007Venus WilliamsMaria Kirilenko
2008Maria KirilenkoSam Stosur
2009Kimiko Data-KrummAnabel Medina Garrigues
2010Alisa KleybanovaKlara Zakopalova
2011Maria Jose Martinez SanchezGalina Voskoboeva
2012Caroline WozniackiKaia Kanepi
2013Agnieszka RadwanskaAnastasia Pavlyuchenkova
2014Karolina PliskovaVarvara Lepchenko
2015Irina-Camelia BeguAliaksandra Sasnovich
2016Lara ArruabarrenaMonica Niculescu
2017Jelena OstapenkoLara Arruabarrena

You have unread messages

You have unread messages