Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Register now for live tennis updates

Find out how now

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.



  • Time *
  • Sport
  • Event
  • Live
WTA Auckland Live Streaming is now available online. Find out how to watch the ASB Classic in Auckland for free - no download or membership fees.

The ASB Classic in Auckland is the traditional season opening event for many of the world’s leading female tennis stars. First held in 1986, the event has come a long way from its humble beginnings as a grass-court event in mid December to its current status as one of the most important warm-up events ahead of the Australian Open.
There had been no international tennis tournament for women in Auckland for five years until Ari Hallenberg and Global Sports saw a hole in the market place and approached Tennis New Zealand in the mid 1980s and the rest as they say, is history !
These days it’s always held on the same surface as the Aussie Open so when the organizers in Melbourne switched from Rebound Ace to a blue plexicushion surface in 2008, the ASB Classic immediately followed suit.
This has made it very popular with the players who also enjoy the more moderate climate in Auckland, a gentle introduction ahead of the blisteringly dry heat to come in Australia. 
However to dismiss the ASB Classic as a mere warm-up would be to do it a huge disservice. With a $220,000 prize pot, it’s an important title in its own right, one of New Zealand’s biggest sporting events and as its status has grown, it’s attracted some of the world’s leading players over the past decade. The tournament enjoyed a major coup in 2011, bringing Maria Sharapova to Auckland, a signing which saw the event completely sell-out for every single day.
The ASB Classic can boast a couple of Olympic champions on its honours board with Lindsay Davenport (Atlanta 1996) winning in 2008 and Elena Dementieva (Beijing 2008) doing so in 2009. Former world number one Jelena Jankovic won in 2007 and multiple Grand Slam finalist Vera Zvonareva has twice been a runner-up.
However as of yet, there’s been no success for local players at this event. Marina Erakovic has long carried the hopes of home fans and she thrilled her supporters by reaching the semi-finals back in 2007 but that’s been as good as it’s got for Kiwi tennis.
The lack of home success has made little difference to the appetite for tennis in this sport-obsessed section of the world and the fans continue to flow in their droves to the ASB Classic year-in, year-out.

The 2012 WTA Auckland Open was won by China’s Jie Zheng. When Flavia Pennetta was forced to retire early in the third set of the final due to a lower back injury, Zheng was handed her first title since the summer of 2006.

To watch free live streams of the Auckland online, simply open a free account with one of our fully licensed live streaming partners such as bet365. To access the live feed, go to bet365 > live streaming tennis.

Breaking News

You have unread messages

You have unread messages