The St Petersburg Open is a key destination as the ATP World Tour turns its attention to indoor hard courts in the wake of the US Open.

Since 1995, the fairytale Russian city of St Petersburg has attracted top fields to the 250-level event at the Sibur Arena, with Dominic Thiem, Denis Shapovalov and Karen Khachanov among those scheduled to appear at the 2018 St Petersburg Open when it begins on Monday 17 September.


ATP St Petersburg tennis is live from 17-23 September with play starting around 1pm local/6pm BST. Bookmaker bet365 are offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the matches alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on St Petersburg Open tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch & bet on St Petersburg Open tennis

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select 'Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for ATP St Petersburg tennis, live from 17-23 September 2018

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply. 


ATP St Petersburg players 2018

Dominic Thiem, Denis Shapovalov, Karen Khachanov and Fabio Fognini are among the players who have entered the 2018 St Petersburg Open.

While second seed Fognini was eliminated early by the talented Martin Klizan, most of the big names playing ATP St Petersburg in 2018 remain in the tournament. 

Top seed and world no. 8 Dominic Thiem, who reached his first Grand Slam final at the French Open in 2018, is looking for his third title of the season on the indoor hard courts of St Petersburg after triumphing on clay in Lyon and Buenos Aires.

Thiem is joined by three-time Grand Slam champion Stan Wawrinka, runner-up in St Petersburg in 2016, who has taken full advantage of a wildcard in the Russian city, beating Aljaz Bedene and fourth seed Karen Khachanov to reach the quarterfinals. Wawrinka is rebuilding his ranking after multiple surgeries on his knee last autumn but remains a very real and present danger.

Defending champion Damir Dzumhur, rising Canadian sensation Denis Shapovalov and surprise French Open semifinalist Marco Cecchinato are among those remaining in the field at the St Petersburg Open as the ATP 250 indoor hard-court event heads towards its climactic stages.

About the St Petersburg Open

The St Petersburg Open is one of two ATP World Tour events held in Russia, together with Moscow's Kremlin Cup, a duel-gender event which comes later in the autumn. 

One of the most beautiful and architecturally rich cities in the world, St Petersburg - the cultural capital of Russia - makes for a fascinating backdrop for this ATP World Tour 250-level event. 

With the US Open and the American hard-court swing in the books, the attention of the tennis world turns towards the climax of the season, which comes on European indoor hard-courts. Along with the Moselle Open in Metz, the St Petersburg Open is the first event of the autumn European indoor hard-court tournaments which goes on to incorporate stops in Antwerp, Stockholm, Vienna, Moscow and Basel before the final Masters 1000 Series event of the year in Paris and the ATP World Tour Finals in London.

The St Petersburg Open was first held in 1995 when Yevgeny Kafelnikov, who would go on to win two Grand Slams, beat Guillaume Raoux in the final to become the first Russian champion. The event was played at the St Petersburg Sports and Concert Complex from 1995 until 2013, when the St Petersburg Open was briefly suspended before being revived in 2015 at a new location, the Sibur Arena.

Kafelnikov was one of three Russians who have claimed the title in St Petersburg; he was joined by Marat Safin, who became the first player to win back-to-back titles in 2000-1, and Mikhail Youzhny in 2004. Other St Petersburg Open champions include Richard Krajicek (1998), Gustavo Kuerten (2003) and Mario Ancic (2006).

Three men have won multiple titles at the St Petersburg Open. Safin was the first, and he was joined by Australian Open champion Thomas Johansson (1997 and 2005) and Andy Murray, who won back-to-back titles in St Petersburg in 2007-8. In recent years, champions include Marin Cilic (2011), Milos Raonic (2015) and Alexander Zverev, who in 2016 won his very first title at the St Petersburg Open, beating Stan Wawrinka - who only two weeks before had won his third Grand Slam title at the US Open - in the final. 

With Zverev not returning to defend his title, the 2017 field was headlined by Roberto Bautista Agut and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga but it was an unseeded man, Damir Dzumhur, who came through the draw to beat Fabio Fognini in the final - the first man from Bosnia-Herzegovina to claim an ATP World Tour title. Dzumhur would add more history to his CV as he also claimed the Kremlin Cup title in Moscow a few weeks later, becoming the first man to win both tournaments in the same year.

ATP St Petersburg tournament information

Fast facts about the St Petersburg Open

ATP St PetersburgSt Petersburg Open
Dates17-23 September 2018
LocationSt Petersburg, Russia
VenueSibur Arena
Draw size32 singles/16 doubles
Prize money
First played1995
Most titlesMarat Safin (2 - 2000-1)/Andy Murray (2 - 2007-8)
Reigning singles championDamir Dzumhur
Reigning doubles championsRoman Jebavy/Matwe Middelkoop

ATP St Petersburg ranking points

These are the ranking points awarded by the ATP World Tour for reaching various different rounds at an ATP 250 event like the St Petersburg Open.

Ranking points on offer at ATP 250 events

Round of 1620
First round10

ATP St Petersburg champions

Players who are still active in singles are given in bold.

Former winners of the St Petersburg Open

1995Yevgeny KafelnikovGuillaume Raoux
1996Magnus GustafssonYevgeny Kafelnikov
1997Thomas JohanssonRenzo Furlan
1998Richard KrajicekMarc Rosset
1999Marc RossetDavid Prinosil
2000Marat SafinDominic Hrbaty
2001Marat Safin (2)Rainer Schuttler
2002Sebastian GrosjeanMikhail Youzhny
2003Gustavo KuertenSagis Sargsian
2004Mikhail YouzhnyKarol Beck
2005Thomas Johansson (2)Nicholas Kiefer
2006Mario AncicThomas Johansson
2007Andy MurrayFernando Verdasco
2008Andy Murray (2)Andrey Golubev
2009Sergiy StakhovskyHoracio Zeballos
2010Mikhail KukushkinMikhail Youzhny
2011Marin CilicJanko Tipsarevic
2012Martin KlizanFabio Fognini
2013Ernests GulbisGuillermo Garcia-Lopez
2015Milos RaonicJoao Sousa
2016Alexander ZverevStan Wawrinka
2017Damir DzumhurFabio Fognini

You have unread messages

You have unread messages