Three-time champion Pablo Cuevas headlines the 2019 Brasil Open draw, live from Sao Paulo between February 25 and March 3.

A champion three years on the bounce from 2015-17, can Cuevas add a fourth Brasil Open title to his trophy cabinet, or will there be a fresh champion in Sao Paulo in 2019?

ATP Sao Paulo live streaming

ATP Sao Paulo tennis is live from February 25 to March 3, 2019, with play starting around 12.30pm local/3.30pm GMT. Bookmaker bet365 are offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the match alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on ATP Sao Paulo tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch and bet on ATP Sao Paulo tennis:

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select 'Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for ATP Sao Paulo tennis, live from February 25 to March 3, 2019.

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply.

ATP Sao Paulo tournament schedule

ATP Sao Paulo players 2019

Held on clay during the same week as big ATP 500 tournaments in Dubai and Acapulco and just one week before the first ATP Masters 1000 event of the season in Indian Wells on hardcourt, the Brasil Open in Sao Paulo can understandably often struggle to attract the very best players in the world.

However, in saying that, supreme clay-court tennis will be offer over the course of the week in Sao Paulo, with a host of dirt-ballers ready to battle it out for a precipitous ATP title.

Leading the way is three-time champion Pablo Cuevas. Ranked as high as No. 19 in 2016, Cuevas won the Brasil Open title three years in a row between 2015-17 and will once again be considered among the leading contenders for the crown in 2019.

Only two top 50 players are present in this year’s edition of the tournament: Malek Jaziri and Joao Sousa, but fans can taste a glimpse of the future with the likes of rising stars Felix Auger-Aliassime and Jaume Munar gunning for their first ATP title, along with Norway’s Casper Ruud and Sweden’s Elias Ymer.

Recently-crowned Cordoba champion Juan Ignacio Londero will be out to prove his shock run to a maiden ATP title was no fluke, while the man he beat in that final - Guido Pella - will be determined to win his first tour-level title after losing four finals.

About ATP Sao Paulo

First played in 2001, when Jan Vacek defeated Fernando Meligeni in the final, the Brasil Open was originally a hard-court tournament held in Costa do Saiupe. But in 2004, the tournament switched surfaces to red clay and ever since has been an integral part of the Golden Swing, the run of clay-court tournaments held throughout South America in the spring.

The Brasil Open enjoyed a successful 11-year run in Costa do Saiupe before moving to Sao Paulo, a city in southeastern Brazil that is the world’s twelfth most populous, in 2013. The tournament also became an indoors clay-court tournament, a rare entity on the ATP World Tour, due to the frequency of wet weather in Brazil in February.

While the first ever winner of the Brasil Open was from the Czech Republic, Gustavo Kuerten, home favourite and worldwide legend, won the first of his titles in Costa do Saiupe in 2002, defeating Guillermo Coria in the final. Three-time French Open champion ‘Guga’ won again in 2004 after the tournament switched to clay, defeating Agustin Calleri, but Brazil has not had a homegrown champion since although big-hitting left-hander Thomaz Bellucci has come close, reaching the final in 2009 when he lost to Tommy Robredo and the semifinals again in 2014 before he lost to the eventual champion, Argentina’s equally big-hitting Federico Delbonis.

Spanish players, however, have dominated the Brasil Open more than any other nationality of players with some of the biggest stars that nation has produced in recent years – as well as some of the biggest stars in men’s tennis overall – lifting the trophy in Brazil. Seeded sixth, a young Rafael Nadal won the Brasil Open in 2005, defeating Alberto Martin in the final, before returning to the tournament eight years later in 2013. On the comeback trail after an injury hiatus which caused him to miss much of the previous season and the beginning of the 2013 one, Nadal defeated David Nalbandian in the final to claim his second Brasil Open trophy – and his first since winning his seventh French Open title in 2012.

Former world no. 1 and French Open champion Juan Carlos Ferrero took the title in 2010, succeeding clay-court veteran Tommy Robredo as the 2009 champion, and Nicolas Almagro – former world no. 9 and one of the finest clay-court players the ATP World Tour has to offer – holds the record for most Brasil Open titles, winning in 2008, 2011 and 2012.

Argentina’s Federico Delbonis claimed his maiden title in Sao Paulo in 2014, defeating Italian veteran Paolo Lorenzi in the final, and Pablo Cuevas of Uruguay became the second South American man in a row to win the title in 2015 when he defeated Italy’s Luca Vanni. Cuevas successful defended his title in 2016 with a 7-6(4) 6-3 victory over Pablo Carreno Busta in the final, while he claimed a historic three-peat in 2017 with a win over another Spaniard, Albert Ramos-Vinolas. Fabio Fognini snapped Cuevas’s bid for a fourth straight title in 2018, beating the Uruguayan in the semi-finals before taking out Nicolas Jarry in the final to claim the silverware.

ATP Sao Paulo tournament information

ATP Sao Paolo fast facts

ATP Sao PaoloBrasil Open
DatesFebruary 23 to March 3, 2019
VenueEsporte Clube Pinheiros
LocationSao Paolo, Brazil
First Played2001
CategoryATP 250
Draw Size28
Prize Money$516,205
Reigning Singles ChampionFabio Fognini
Reigning Doubles ChampionFederico Delbonis/Maximo Gonzalez

Former ATP Sao Paulo champions

Former Brasil Open Winners

2001Jan VacekFernando Meligeni
2002Gustavo KuertenGuillermo Coria
2003Sjeng SchalkenRainer Schuttler
2004Gustavo KuertenAgustin Calleri
2005Rafael NadalAlberto Martin
2006Nicolas MassuAlberto Martin
2007Guillermo CanasJuan Carlos Ferrero
2008Nicolas AlmagroCarlos Moya
2009Tommy RobredoThomaz Bellucci
2010Juan Carlos FerreroLukasz Kubot
2011Nicolas AlmagroAlexandr Dolgopolov
2012Nicolas AlmagroFilippo Volandri
2013Rafael NadalDavid Nalbandian
2014Federico DelbonisPaolo Lorenzi
2015Pablo CuevasLuca Vanni
2016Pablo CuevasPablo Carreno Busta
2017Pablo CuevasAlbert Ramos-Vinolas
2018Fabio FogniniNicolas Jarry

ATP Sao Paulo ranking points

Ranking points on offer at ATP 250 events

Round of 1620
First round10

You have unread messages

You have unread messages