Rome Masters


  • Time *
  • Sport
  • Event
  • Live

Latest Rome Masters Stories/

Rome Masters Live Streaming is now available online. Find out how to watch the Internazionali BNL d’Italia for free - no download or membership fees.

The ATP World Tour stops off in Rome in the middle of May for the ATP Rome Masters. The event, also referred to as the Internazionali BNL d’Italia for sponsorship reasons, is one of three clay court ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Series events on the ATP Calendar. With the French Open taking place just over a week after Rome, the world’s best arrive here every year to make final adjustments to their game ahead of the clay court Slam.

Rome is perhaps a perfect location for a Masters series event, due to its culture, shopping experiences and historic landmarks. The capital of Italy contains some of the most fascinating landmarks in the world, such as the Colosseum, the Pantheon, the Catacombs, the Basilica and the Monument of Vittorio Emanuelle II to name just a few. Along with the city, the ATP Rome Masters has an intriguing history of its own.

The International Championships of Italy, later to become the ATP Rome Masters, were founded in 1930. For the first five years of the tournament, matches were played in Milan at the Tennis Club Milano. After this the tournament relocated to the Foro Italico Tennis courts, where it has remained ever since.

Rafael Nadal has won the ATP Rome Masters more times than any other player. His five wins put him on top of a list of former winners that includes tennis legends such as Bill Tilden, Mervyn Rose, Rod Laver, Tony Roche, John Newcombe, Ilie Nastase, Bjorn Borg, Guillermo Vilas, Yannick Noah, Ivan Lendl, Mats Wilander, Thomas Muster, Pete Sampras, Jim Courier, Marcelo Rios  Gustavo Kuerten, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Andre Agassi, Carlos Moya, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. 

The home nation has bred five winners in this event, though the most recent Italian champion was Adriano Panatta, who topped the pack in 1976. Since Panatta finished as a runner-up in 1978, no Italian players have threatened to end the title drought, unless the men’s doubles title that Omar Camporese clinched in 1991 is counted. Camporese achieved his doubles success when paired with former world No. 2 Goran Ivanisevic.

Fans can expect an action-packed tournament in Rome every year. The top ten are always present here, with only injuries and suspensions keeping the best players off of the court. Few tournaments are as fascinating as this one, with the remarkable city of Rome providing an ideal backdrop. This is the biggest event in Italian tennis, and promises to be so for many years to come.

To watch free live streams of the Rome Masters online, simply open a free account with one of our fully licensed live streaming partners such as bet365. To access the live feed, go to bet365 > live streaming tennis.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages