Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Register now for live tennis updates

Find out how now

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

ATP Auckland


  • Time *
  • Sport
  • Event
  • Live
ATP Auckland Live Streaming is now available online. Find out how to watch the Heineken Open for free - no download or membership fees.

The ATP Auckland Open, also known as the Heineken Open, is the biggest tennis event in the whole of New Zealand. It takes place a week in advance of the Australian Open, and for many players serves as a vital opportunity to cram in some last minute practice ahead of the season’s first Slam.

The history of the ATP Auckland Open goes back as far as 1920, when local clubs raised a small fortune to build the courts at the ASB Tennis Centre. The Centre hosted domestic tennis competitions until 1956, when Auckland hosted its inaugural international tournament.

The court surfaces were changed in 2008 to match the blue Plexicushion surfaces used at the Australian Open. Prior to this, the ATP Auckland Open had been played on green Rebound Ace courts. In its current format, the ATP Auckland is an ATP World Tour 250 series event.

The courts at the ASB Tennis Centre have been graced by some of the world’s best, including former champions Roy Emerson, Rod Laver, Bjorn Borg, Thomas Enqvist, Gustavo Kuerten, Marcelo Rios, Juan Martin Del Potro and David Ferrer. The runner-ups list also contains some of the biggest names in tennis history, such as Rafael Nadal, Juan Carlos Ferrero and Michael Chang.

It’s been a long time since a New Zealander came close to winning the men’s singles at the ATP Auckland Open, but doubles success was achieved by Marcus Daniell in 2010 when he teamed up with Romania’s Horia Tecau. Daniell and Tecau are amongst the pairings of Tommy Robredo and Marcel Granollers, and Jonas Bjorkman and Todd Woodbridge, who have also topped the field here in doubles competition.

Between the years of 1976 and 1981, Auckland also hosted an international women’s singles event. No New Zealander managed to win this event, but Judy Connor Chaloner finished as the runner-up in 1980. The first ever women’s international title here was shared between Sue Barker and Helga Niessen Masthoff, after their match was abandoned.

Top seed David Ferrer won the Auckland title in 2012. Entering as the world No. 5, the Spaniard showcased his familiar and entertaining brand of energetic tennis to the delight of the fans. He joined Roy Emerson and Onny Parun at the top of the Auckland leaderboard by winning his third title here with a 6-3, 6-4 dismissal of Olivier Rochus in the final.

Women’s tennis is still played at the highest level at the ASB Centre. The WTA World Championships head to Auckland in the first week of the season for the ASB Classic. This event continues to attract the stars of the WTA.

Spectators in Auckland can anticipate a week of first class tennis. Some of the world’s best take a week off before the start of theAustralian Open, yet the field in the ATP Auckland Open is packed with top quality players, year after year.

To watch free live streams of the Auckland Open online, simply open a free account with one of our fully licensed live streaming partners such as bet365. To access the live feed, go to bet365 > live streaming tennis.

Breaking News

You have unread messages

You have unread messages