The Moselle Open, played in Metz since 2003, signals the beginning of the fourth and final phase of the ATP World Tour's season as the focus turns to indoor hard courts.

New Greek sensation Stefanos Tsitsipas joins Kei Nishikori and former champions Lucas Pouille, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Gilles Simon in the field for ATP Metz when it begins on 17 September 2018.

Moselle Open live streaming

ATP Metz tennis is live from 17-23 September with play starting around 11am local/10am BST. Bookmaker bet365 are offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the matches alongside in-play betting.

Watch and bet on Moselle Open tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

How to watch & bet on Moselle Open tennis

1. Visit the bet365 website

2. Sign into your account or register for a new one

3. Select Live Streaming

4. Select 'Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu

5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for ATP Metz tennis, live from 17-23 September 2018

PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply. 

ATP Metz tournament schedule

ATP Metz players 2018

This popular 250-level stop on the ATP World Tour routinely attracts a strong field, with players regrouping after the US Open and Davis Cup and eager to turn their attention to the indoor hard courts which largely dominate the autumnal months of the season.

The 2018 Moselle Open is no exception. Surprise 2017 champion Peter Gojowczyk, who has already made two ATP World Tour 250 finals in 2018, returns to defend his title in Metz and is joined by several other former champions. The 2016 winner, Lucas Pouille, will be looking to bring the title back to France, as will three-time winner Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, the former top-10 player who is beloved of crowds wherever he goes and will be warmly welcomed back to competition after a long lay-off due to a knee injury.

2010 and 2013 champion Gilles Simon is also in the draw for the 2018 Moselle Open, as are other French favourites Richard Gasquet, Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Benoit Paire.

ATP Metz also welcomes two significant top-20 stars in 2018. The first is Kei Nishikori, the Japanese superstar who, despite a difficult wrist injury, has still rebuilt himself solidly in 2018, making the final of the Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters and the semifinals of the US Open. The second is Stefanos Tsitsipas, the Greek sensation who is looking for his first ATP World Tour title after making a name for himself with his impressive, upset-filled runs to the Barcelona 500 and Canada Masters final.

Paris Masters champion Filip Krajinovic, German veteran Philipp Kohlschreiber and Hamburg winner Nikoloz Basilashvili are also in the field for the 2018 Moselle Open when it begins on Monday 17 September.

About the Moselle Open

One of the highlights of the autumn European indoor swing, ATP Metz - also known as the Moselle Open - follows the US Open and the Davis Cup semifinals and marks the beginning of a spate of tournaments played in the closing months of the season on the indoor hard courts of various European cities, including Moscow and St Petersburg, Antwerp, Stockholm, Vienna and Basel, leading up to the Paris Masters and the ATP World Tour Finals in London.

The Moselle Open is one of four ATP World Tour 250 events played throughout the season in France, joining the indoor hard-court events of Montpellier and Marseille in February and the clay-court event in Lyon which precedes Roland Garros. 

Located in northern France at the confluence of the Moselle and Seine rivers, Metz has a rich 3,000-year history and is notable for its yellow limestone architecture. The economic heart of the Lorraine region, Metz is known as the 'Green City' (la Ville Verte) because of its many parks and gardens and is home to a Ligue 1 football club and a champion handball team as well as to the Moselle Open.

Between 1980 and 1988, Metz was home to a Grand Prix Tennis Circuit event and held a men's tennis tournament every two years with French player Thierry Tulasne among its champions, but the history of the Moselle Open doesn't really start until 2003 when the tournament was first held as an ATP World Tour 250 event.

France's Arnaud Clement, who was runner-up at the Australian Open in 2001, ranked as high as world no. 10 and would go on to serve as France's Davis Cup captain, won the inaugural edition of the Moselle Open when he beat Chile's Fernando Gonzalez in the final. In 2004, another French player followed suit when Jerome Haehnel beat a young Richard Gasquet in an all-French final, but for the next four years players of other nations would claim the title despite French players twice reaching the final, Gael Monfils in 2005 and Paul-Henri Mathieu in 2008: Croatia's Ivan Ljubicic (2005), Serbia's Novak Djokovic (2006), Spain's Tommy Robredo (2007) and Russia's Dimitry Tursunov (2008) were all crowned champions in Metz.

Gael Monfils ended the wait for a third French champion in 2009 when he beat Philipp Kohlschreiber in the final and the Moselle Open would be won by a French player for six of the next seven years, with Gilles Simon taking the title in 2010 and 2013 and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga becoming the first player to win back-to-back titles in 2011-12, adding a third to his record haul in 2015 when he beat Simon in the final. Belgium's David Goffin briefly interrupted the French dominance at the Moselle Open in 2014 when he beat Joao Sousa in the final, but it was swiftly re-established by rising star Lucas Pouille in 2016 when he overcame Austria's Dominic Thiem in the final. Benoit Paire came close to becoming the seventh French player to win the Moselle Open when he reached the final in 2017, but lost to surprise champion Peter Gojowczyk of the Netherlands. 

Currently played at the Arene des Metz, the home of Metz's handball team which boasts a 4,500-seat capacity, the Moselle Open offers prize money of 4,500 euros as well as 250 ranking points to the winner and is a popular destination for the top players of the ATP World Tour as the tennis world begins to turn its attention to the indoor hard courts of Europe in the autumn.

ATP Metz tournament information

Fast facts about the Moselle Open

Moselle OpenATP Metz
Dates17-23 September 2018
LocationMetz, France
VenueArene des Metz
Draw size32 singles/16 doubles
Prize money


First played2003
Most titlesJo-Wilfried Tsonga (3)
Reigning singles championPeter Gojocwzyk
Reigning doubles championsJulien Benneteau/Edouard Roger-Vasselin

ATP Metz ranking points

These are the ranking points offered by the ATP World Tour for reaching various different rounds at a 250-level event like the Moselle Open.

Ranking points on offer at ATP 250 events

Round of 1620
First round10

ATP Metz champions

Players who are still active in singles are given in bold.

Former winners of the Moselle Open

2003Arnaud ClementFernando Gonzalez
2004Jerome HaehnelRichard Gasquet
2005Ivan LjubicicGael Monfils
2006Novak DjokovicJurgen Melzer
2007Tommy RobredoAndy Murray
2008Dimitry TursunovPaul-Henri Mathieu
2009Gael MonfilsPhilipp Kohlschreiber
2010Gilles SimonMischa Zverev
2011Jo-Wilfried TsongaIvan Ljubicic
2012Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2)Andreas Seppi
2013Gilles Simon (2)Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
2014David GoffinJoao Sousa
2015Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (3)Gilles Simon
2016Lucas PouilleDominic Thiem
2017Peter GojowczykBenoit Paire

You have unread messages

You have unread messages