Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Register now for live tennis updates

Find out how now

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Fed Cup


  • Time *
  • Sport
  • Event
  • Live

Latest Fed Cup Stories/

Fed Cup Live Streaming is now available online. Find out how to watch Federation Cup for free - no download or membership fees.

The Fed Cup is the women’s version of the Davis Cup and all matches are now available as free live streams online. Known as the Federation Cup until 1995, it is the premier team competition in women's tennis, launched in 1963 to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the International Tennis Federation (ITF).

The men have the Davis Cup and the women have the Fed Cup - the idea to create a women's event similar to the hugely successful men's tournament first came about in 1919. However, it took more than 40 years before the International Tennis Federation (ITF) decided in 1963 to create the Federation Cup (since 1995 the Fed Cup).

Just as in the men's event, the number of participants in the Fed Cup has grown significantly over the years and the most successful nation since the tournament began is the USA. Unlike the Davis Cup, there are just three rounds with World Group first round matches, followed by semi-finals and then the final (3rd - 4th November 2012). 

When initially launched, back in the era of amateur tennis, there was no prize money and teams even had to meet their own expenses, a scarcely imaginable situations going by today’s standards.

However once sponsors took interest, the event expanded rapidly with regional qualifying competitions introduced in the mid nineties and now often 90 countries take part each year.    

The current format sees eight countries qualify for the elite World Group and another eight in World Group II. First round World Group losers contest the playoffs against first round World Group II winners to determine promotion and relegation for the following year.

For the countries not strong enough to mix it with the very elite, they fight it out in the Zonal Competition events which take place over half a week. Teams are split into different pools of four and compete in a round-robin format with the pools winners getting the chance to playoff for promotion.

The United States have enjoyed an overwhelming level of Fed Cup success, winning the competition an incredible 17 times, ten more than Australia (who claimed the last of their seven titles way back in 1974). It’s hardly surprising considering that great champions of the ilk of Chris Evert, Martina Navratilova, Lindsay Davenport, Serena and Venus Williams, Monica Seles and Billie Jean King have all competed for them over the years.

To watch free Fed Cup live stream coverage online, simply open a free account with one of our fully licensed live streaming partners such as bet365. To access the live feed, go to bet365 > live streaming tennis.

Breaking News

You have unread messages

You have unread messages